The Next BIG Thing – week 8

  1. What is the working title of your book?

Unforgiving Ghosts

2 .Where did the idea come from for the book?

This is the first book I wrote and it comes from my personal experience. As a matter of fact, the tragedy in the book is the reason I became a writer.

 

3. What genre does your book fall under?

Christian contemporary romance

 

4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I like Carly Schroeder or Ashley Tisdale to play Megan. The part of Steven Peterson would be Paul Walker but he’s have to wear brown contacts. Leonardo Dicaprio could also work. As for John I always pictured a young Tom Seleck or Lee Majors. The closest thing I could find as a younger actor was Bradley Cooper or Niall Matter who played Zane in Eureka, of course he needs to grow a mustache!

 

5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Are you kidding me? One sentence!! *Sigh* Okay here it is: Megan Black is trying to outrun the ghosts of her past, but soon learns that running away only causes more problems.

 

6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

Self-published under my own imprint: Kingdom Kastle Publishing, Inc.

 

7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took 2 years but I had a little problem. I wrote the first half on our old computer. Then we got a new computer and I couldn’t open the disk (yes a floppy disk!!) because the disk wasn’t compatible with the new computer. It took 8 months to find someone who could help format the old disk, so I didn’t write anything during that time.

 

8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

That is a hard question. The one thing I miss in Christian novels is the lack of sexual tension. Obviously there is a reason for the closed door perception regarding sex scenes. However, the fact that characters have to be engaged to even kiss is a bit much to take. And, I’ve never liked the plots where the whole town is saved and everyone goes to church. So I walk a fine line between Christian content and general romance. I create sexual tension between the characters without giving blow by blow details about what they are doing. I feel like most Christian novels are devoid of passion. I try to bring that passion into all of my novels. My greatest sense of accomplishment is when a reviewer says “I don’t usually read Christian content but I loved this book!” Therefore I can’t really compare my work to other Christian authors.

 

9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?

As I said earlier this novel was inspired by a personal loss. I had a stillborn daughter 15 years ago. Through that tragedy I became a writer. It’s a good thing to remember that God is always in control even during the bad things.

 

10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

As my character, Megan (who is named after my daughter) tries to deal with her heartbreak she must also find her faith in God and trust that He is in control. She cannot have peace until she comes to terms with this. The romance parts are pretty good too! ; )

 

 

***Answer the ten questions about your current WIP (Work In Progress) ***

Tag five other writers/bloggers and add their links so we can hop over and meet them. It’s that simple.

Ten Interview Questions for The Next Big Thing

  1. What is the working title of your book?
  2. Where did the idea come from for the book?
  3. What genre does your book fall under?
  4. Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
  5. What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
  6. Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
  7. How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
  8. What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
  9. Who or What inspired you to write this book?
  10. What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

 

TAG You’re it!!

Tina Kline Smith

Kerri Griffith

J.C. Andrijeski

J.T. Kalnay

Jacquie Rogers

6 thoughts on “The Next BIG Thing – week 8

  1. Great post! Really interesting-sounding book, although a very intense concept, and I’m so sorry for the personal loss that inspired it. Definitely let all of us know when it’s available to buy…!

    • Thanks JC.!! It was a very hard time in my life but I know that I wouldn’t be writing today had it not been for Megan’s death. Although I’d give anything to have my daughter with me, I also can’t imagine my life without writing.

  2. I fully agree with you about Christian romances lacking passion. I don’t see why they can’t have sexual tension. Lynn Kurland writes fantastic books with tons of sexual tension but when it comes to actual sex, she shuts the door and you never miss the sex scene. I’ve considered writing an inspirational, but it would have to have passion.

Leave a Reply

