Best Friends

#FlashFiveFriday  #FlashFiveFriday is a weekly flash fiction/flash blogging prompt.

The rules are very simple if you’d like to take part:

1) Write for no longer than five minutes
2) No upper or lower word limits
3) You must write something new
4) You can prepare your post ahead of time but the 5 minute limit still applies
5) If you add your blog post to the weekly linky you must visit five other blogs that week too to show your support

Click here for upcoming prompts

  This week’s prompt – FRIENDS

                                   

                       Best Friends

When I think of friendship I think of my best friend Dawn. We rode the bus together when I was in fifth grade and she was in tenth. We were both fifteen but I was two years behind. Being shy, I didn’t much, not to mention I got picked on a lot so I learned to just say nothing. I ignored remarks about my clothes, looks and how stupid I was.
Dawn sat with on bus one day and we immediately clicked. She didn’t care that I was too poor to afford nice clothes. She never made me feel ugly or stupid and she was always on my side, watching my back. I knew I could count on her for anything and she never broke that trust.
We stayed friend even after we both graduated, and I moved to another state. We’ve helped each other through a lot of things over the last twenty-eight years. She’s had two failed marriages and now is married with five step children and two of her own.
She has been my sounding board for my own marital problems and came to stay with me fifteen years ago when I lost my daughter, Megan. When I’m feeling depressed or angry, she is the one I call. She can make me laugh or see that I’m being unreasonable, somehow just talking to her always calm me down.

Leave a Reply

