April Prompts – Birthdays

Birthdays have always been special to me. I’ve strived hard to make my kids know how blessed my life is with them in it. The day they were born needs to be celebrated!!

The last few birthdays marked milestones in my kids’ lives.

It started in October when my daughter, Melanie, turned 18. She had a big party with the theme of Masquarde. She designed the cake and I baked it. Although she teased me about being “officially old” I still love her!!

1026121927a

     

1026121846

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In January Mike turned 21. Unlike Melly, my son hadn’t had a birthday party in years so I wanted this to be special. I made him a beer mug cake and he had a bonfire – thankfully this January was mild weather and no snow.

582496_584408034909505_1388541722_n

734968_584408094909499_1709787713_n

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Last month we celebrated my daughter, Megan’s birthday. She would have been 16.  The kids helped clean her headstone and we took a balloon that they both picked out. It’s hard not having her here. I think about the fact that she’d be learning to drive, blowing out candles and having friends over. Although I missed out on throwing parties, tucking her in at night and watching her grow up, I know she is safe and happy in Jesus’s arms.

IMG951053

I am so blessed by each experience. Each birth has changed my life and made me the person I am today!!

One thought on “April Prompts – Birthdays

  1. Pingback: #NaPoWriMo – Day 6 – Frog – #Childrens #Poem | Donna L Sadd

Leave a Reply

