Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

  Read this excerpt from “Unforgiving Ghosts” about a disastrous dinner party.

“Steven tells us that you know each other.” Deloris smiled.

“We… uh, ran into each other on the beach. I’d hardly say we  know each other.” She glanced over and saw the amusement in Steven’s eyes. “I’d describe it as more of an encounter.”

Priscilla stiffened, shooting her a look and warning Megan to stay away from her man.

“Whatever it was, can we eat?” Grant asked.

Everyone enjoyed the meal, which made Tiffany more skeptical.  Her parents were raving about the bread.

“It’s my mother’s recipe.” Megan informed them as she sliced it.

“Is her name D’Angelo?” Tiffany elevated her small round nose a few degrees.

“Who’s that?” Priscilla asked perplexed.

“D´Angelo Bread on Gutierrez Street.” Tiffany rolled her eyes. “It’s the best bakery in town.”

“I don’t shop much for bread,” Priscilla confessed. “I rather shop for clothes and shoes.” Running a manicured hand through her long, dark hair, she added, “I need to be dressed in the latest fashions if I want modeling agencies to take me seriously.”

“You have a live one there, don’t you?” Tiffany directed the question to her brother.

Priscilla – missing the sarcasm – flashed into an award-winning smile. “People are always saying how smart I am for a model.”

Steven, sensing an open door for a rude remark by Tiffany, decided to intercept, “You don’t need brains with a body like yours.”

Deloris groaned and rolled her eyes while Tiffany laughed. Megan tried to hide a smile as she loaded the slices of bread into a basket.

“Looks just like the bakery’s bread.” Tiffany said as she passed the basket.

“Tiffany, why must you be so rude?” Deloris asked.

“I’m not being rude. I just don’t see what the big deal is about the bread.”

“You’re the one making it into an issue,” Steven remarked, passing the basket to Priscilla.

“No thanks, I’m counting carbs. I have to watch my figure,” Priscilla passed the basket while leaning over, giving Steven full view of the low cut dress. “Steven likes his women thin.”

“Steven likes any type of woman that will date him,” Tiffany snorted.

“Where is your husband, Sis? Did he get tired of hearing your nagging?”

Tiffany glared. “You know he’s been sick. He wasn’t at work today either.”

 

“Reallyyou two still squabble like five year olds.” Deloris reprimanded.

“Let’s eat our dinner in peace,” Grant demanded.

After dinner Rosa and Megan brought the desserts to the table. Rosa’s presence helped eliminate some of the tension from Tiffany.

“Everything is delicious,” Deloris said.

“Megan, you have outdone yourself.” Grant smiled.

“Unbelievable!” Tiffany growled. “What is this stuff on top of the apple pie?”

“A crumb topping made with oatmeal and brown sugar.”

“Well, I like regular pie crust.”

 

“Then try one of the other pies,” Deloris said.

“Mom, you know I don’t like blueberries or cherries.”

“How about some mousse?” Rosa offered.

“Chocolate breaks me out.”

“Of course all sugar is out for me.” Priscilla put her hand on Steven’s knee. “Did you make anything with Splenda? That is the only sweetener I like.”

“No. I wasn’t aware of any special dietary needs.” Megan inhaled a shaky breath. Between Tiffany and Priscilla this dinner was turning into a disaster.

“It is your job as the cook to be prepared for these things,” Tiffany chided.

“Yes, ma’am.”

Megan watched as Priscilla leaned closer to Steven. Her hands seemed to be all over him. Steven had put his hand under the table as well. She couldn’t tell if he was holding her hand, or trying to stop her hands from roaming.

Megan finished serving dessert then returned to the kitchen.  She fought back the tears. She’d worked hard on this dinner, wanting to prove she could handle the job. Now, because of the Tifanizer and Barbie’s sister in there, everything was ruined. She’d be lucky to keep this job, let alone get a good recommendation.

 

Although apple pie is considered an autumn dessert, I love to make it all year round. Here is the recipe I use.

 

53367_1711931442755_6909470_o

 

Pie Mixture

8-10 apples (peeled and cut into thin slices.)

4T butter

2t. cornstarch

1t. Cinnamon

1/2t. Nutmeg

one single pie crust (I’m not good with making pie crust so I just use store bought. However, you may make homemade if you like.)

 

Combine the apple slices, cinnamon, nutmeg and cornstarch in a large bowl. Mix until the apples are evenly coated.

Melt the butter in a large skillet. Add apple mixture. Sautee  on medium heat until the apples are tender (about 10 minutes).

Pour apple into pie crust. Put in oven on 350%

Topping

1c oatmeal

1/2 c. flour

1c. brown sugar

1/2 cinnamon

1/4 nutmeg

1/2 c or 1/2 stick of butter (melted)

Combine the oatmeal, flour, b. sugar and spices. Add the melted butter. Stir until mixture is crumbly.

After pie has baked a half hour, spread topping evenly over the pie.  Bake another half hour until the topping is browned and the apples are bubbling.

Cool. Cut. Enjoy!!

 

Don’t forget to leave  a comment with your email address, for a chance to win an ebook copy of, Unfiorgiving Ghost – A Christian romance about overcoming grief, and finding peace in God.

You may also be entered in a drawing to win a $25 gift card and an e-reader. 

List for the Authors in Bloom Hop!

 

 

 

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Authors in Bloom Blog Hop

    • Savannah, I hope you enjoy it. Also hope I got the amount of ingredients right. I tend to just throw stuff in the pan so I don’t always know how much I use. LOL!!

  1. I love a crumble top to but tend to make an apple crisp over apple pie due to the crumble top but when i make apple by i do a basket weave top… Thank you for the excerpt it was interesting.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

    • Hi Jeannie,
      You know, this recipe came about because my husband loved apple crisp and I preferred pie. I combined the two and came up with this. It’s a great compromise. LOL!!

  2. Mmmm Apple pie is my absolute fave when it comes to the pie world 🙂 This looks like a great recipe. Thanks for sharing!
    oddball2003 at hotmail dot com

    • Nice meeting you too, Shelly. If you’d like, I have several recipes from this book and I could do a guest post for you.

  3. Spring is bloom and I love the flowers that come along with it. The warm weather, the happy people, the blossoming of roses and sunflowers. Sunflowers have to be my favorite flowers. They are so happy reaching towards the sky. Their petals are like eyelids opening wide to look upon the great blue sky above. My mother makes the best cheesy cauliflower soup that i adore in the springtime. It’s thick and creamy and I could easily eat gallons of it!
    Thanks for the giveaway!

    mestith at gmail dot com

Leave a Reply

