This week on Foodish Friday I have an awesome Pizza Roll recipe

11138620_10206321425539154_3596291903861769856_nAs promised this is my first installment of Foodish Friday and I’m starting with my Pizza Roll recipe because I have some friends who asked for it.

This recipe came about a few years when I was planning my son’d graduation party. He knew right away that he wanted sloppy joes, which was easy enough. However, he didn’t like anything else I suggested. After several months of him saying no to everything I finally got frustrated and told him to quit saying no to everything and give me some ideas of what he wanted.

The first food out of his mouth was pizza. Which didn’t sit well with me. I mean this is my first graduation party and I want elagence and sophitication. I wanted to showcase my cooking skills not order pizza like we do on any old night. But once he had made up his mind he wouldn’t back down. I was getting exasperated. I had friends who said how their sons didn’t care about planning the party. I was so wishing for that son because mine was making me crazy!!

So as a comprimise I suggested that we make pizza rolls. I did enthusicadstically say yes to that. He loved getting pizza rolls from a small restaurant in my hometown. So with something else on the menu I set about making them. I made about 5 or 6 batches over the next two month and froze them.

They were such a big hit that I have made them several times since then. I ended up making two batches when he came home over spring break. I frooze them and he took them back to college. So now I’m sharing the amazing recipe with you. 🙂

With pizza rolls it’s all about the dough. I’m using a regular bread recipe from my Better and Homes cookbook. For my son’s graduation party I used a regular pizza dough that I made in the bread machine. So if you want to do that it’s perfectly fine. But I got tired of carrying the heavey machine machine up and down the basement stairs, and this bread dough is very easy and only requires a hand mixer. It’s also a very soft and fluffier dough than a traditional pizza dough.

White Bread Dough

5 3/4-6 1/4 cups all purpose flour                                                                                                                                                 1 pack active dry yeast                                                                                                                                                                    2 1/4 cups milk                                                                                                                                                                                  2 tbls. sugar                                                                                                                                                                                        1 tbls. butter or margarine                                                                                                                                                             1 tsp. salt

In a large mixing bowl comine 2 1/2 cups of the flour and the yeast.

In a saucepan heat and stir the milk sugar, salt and butter/margarine until warm (120 – 130) the butter should be almost melted. Add to the flour mixture.

Beat with an electric mixer on low for 30 seconds, scraping the sides on the bowl, then turn up to high for 3 minutes. Next, using a spoon stir in as much of the remaining flour as you can.

Turn out onto a lightly floured surface. Knead the rest of the flour into the dough until the dough is moderartly stiff, smooth and elestic. The cookbook says about 6-8 mintes but I don’t usually knead that long. I stop once the dough isn’t sticky anymore. Maybe 3-5 minutes.

Shape the dough into a large ball and place in a bowl that is sparyed with cooking spray. Turn it over so both sides are coated. Cover and let rise in a warm place till double in size, about 45 minuted.

Punch the dough down and turn out onto lightly floured surface. Knead for a few more minutes then divide into small balls. I usually get 5 or 6 but if you want to make larger rolls you can do 3 or 4. Let rise 10 minutes.

Roll out into a circle. Actually I try to do more of rectangle but it never turns out.

Next is the fun part!!

You will need:

Tomatoe or spaghetti sauce                                                                                                                                                   Chesses: I use Mozzarella, cheddar and a little parmeasan (real not the stuff in a can) But you can use any                                        combonations you like.

Toppings:

pepperoni                                                                                                                                                                                   sausage                                                                                                                                                                                       onion                                                                                                                                                                                           green peppers                                                                                                                                                                           olives

I only use pepperoni as my family is very picky. I also do plain cheese for my daughter who doesn’t eat meat. But you can use whatever your family likes.

To assemble put the pizza sauce on leaving about a half inch to an inch around the edge because when you roll it the sauce will spread. Next cover the dough and sauce with cheese then add your toppings.

The tricky part is rolling it, but don’t worry if it isn’t perfect. It’ll taste amazing and that counts more than looks!! After you have it rolled up just tuck the ends under. Useing you fingers pinch the seam and ends closed.

Place seam side down on a cookie sheet, sparyed with cooking spary. Then cut 3 or 4 slits across the top to help air escape so the dough won’t develope bubbles while baking.

Bake in the oven on 350 for 30-40 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

The finale touch is rubbing some butter over the top. I use stick butter so I just take a stick from the fridge and rub over it. If you are using tub butter or maragrine you can melt some in a bowl and use a basting brush to paint it over the top.

Slice and enjoy!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

