Wednesdays, Writing & Words welcomes author, Michael Rivers

Welcome to Wednesday, Writing & Words. This week I have the pleasure of interviewing paranormal author, Michael Rivers. If you like ghost stories, you’ll want to check out his new novel, Verliege.  veriliege

Book Blurb

 Verliege, a chilling paranormal and international crime mystery, begins at 
Arlette Mansion in the mountains of West Virginia. Prisoner and author 
Adrian Bolt was transferred there accused of the horrific murder of his 
wife. She was found brutally murdered by an antique sword. His conviction 
by a German court was as swift as the sword that killed her. Adrian had notspoken since her death …until… Dr. James Pellitere was able to break his silence. 
A deal was offered to Pellitere. Traveling to Germany with a paranormal 
investigative team they searched for evidence that would clear Adrian and 
prove him innocent. While at the castle, Pellitere is confronted by the
supernatural residents. A battle begins over the secret of the nine and a 
prophecy is in jeopardy of becoming unfulfilled.

I have to confess that I don’t really believe in ghosts. It steams from my Baptist roots, believing that a soul immediately goes to Heaven or hell. So the concept of a soul being trapped on the earth doesn’t make sense to me. However, as a fiction story I always find myself drawn to legends of ghost haunting people or places. I like the scary accept in books. In real life – not so much!!

I just moved to Scottsville, Kentucky and my new neighbor owens a haunted hospital. Appearently it’s well known and has even been featured in books and TV series. My neighbor wants me to go visit the hospital but I haven’t done it yet. Reading a book or watching a movie about ghosts in the comfort of my own home is fine.  But it’s a whole different story touring a real haunted place, neeedless to say, I am a bit chicken.

So I will just stay home and enjoy Michael’s book with a glass of wine and maybe sone chocolates. If you want to read a funny interview, read below.

What genre do you write in and why?

I have a great interest in the paranormal. Investigating sites for paranormal activity sometimes just isn’t enough. I have always had a passion for ghost stories so I usually write paranormal thrillers as well as actual sightings of the paranormal. I do write in other genres, I just haven’t released any of the work thus far. I am planning on releasing some this year. I have some new work as well as some that has been in storage readers may like. The upcoming books are in the genres of non-fiction, romance, (one for the ladies) and a thriller titled Scratch for those who like to sleep with the lights on. The next titles will be released under my real name Micheal Baugham

Why don’t you tell us a little about yourself? Are you married? Any kids? Where do you live?

My life has been one for the books. I never know what is going to happen next or where I may be found. Currently I live in South Dakota with my wife and my dog DeeDee. We have six children that are spread out across the country including Alaska. I served in the Marine Corps during Vietnam and traveled extensively for a lot of years. I have many places I call my favorite, but you never know when someplace will fall in my lap and put them to shame. In any case make the location warm and colorful.

What are your fondest memories of reading or writing?

Over the years I still recall the days spent with the masters such as Poe and Alexander Dumas. I love a good story of revenge. You may say I am a little antiquated when it comes to style. The old books hold a certain fascination in the manner in which they are written. Eloquence is a very difficult thing to find any longer. Many books strike me as cold though the message is still clear. That may sound a little out of place for someone who writes what I do, however it is what the world has become. It is a different place and time for everyone. We have such as instant connection to everything on the face of the Earth that it leaves little for the imagination to do its work. Find some romance in your life.

What are some of your favorite authors and books?

God bless them; I love them all. There are a few I do not approve of, but who am I to judge.

 If you could describe what writing means to you, how would you do so?

Writing puts me in a place I need to be. That is the best way I know to explain it. I have too much in my head to just lay there and ferment until I go nuts. I just wish I had more time to do so. I have to have everything right or the words won’t flow.

What is your favorite snack & drink while writing?

Therein is the curse. I eat anything that was never deemed as health food and drown it in Pepsi until the blues go away. Top it off with a little music and boom there I am.

Write your favorite quote and explain why you picked it?

I would probably be drawn and quartered for my favorite quote so we’ll leave that one at the door. The other quote is “Be the host to your ghost” It is one that I penned myself meaning to have respect for the dead.

Michael, thanks so much for stopping by. I loved your answers, but now I want to know what your first pick for a quote. LOL!!

Bio

BESTSELLING PARANORMAL THRILLER AUTHOR MICHEAL RIVERS won 1st Place Runner up at The Paranormal Awards 2014 and has won Supernatural Book of the Year 2012.
Micheal Rivers is the pseudonym for Mike Baugham. His Cherokee heritage 
prompted him to honor his great-grandfather and write under the name of 
Rivers.He grew up near the Outer Banks of North Carolina. His love of the 
sea and all it has to offer was the driving force of his first novel 
The Black Witch. As a child, he became aware of the supernatural world due to 
several experiences. A recognized authority as a paranormal investigator 
with more than thirty years of research, teaching classes and giving 
speeches provides his readers with some of his experiences woven into his 
paranormal thrillers. He is the lead investigator for the Smokey Mountain Ghost Trackers.

His works include supernatural thrillers, literary fiction and ghost story anthologies published by Schiffer Publishing. Micheal is a USMC veteran and 
served during Vietnam. The passions in his life are his wife, family, BoxerDelilah affectionately known as DeeDee, and the great outdoors.

 Purchase Links
Amazon
Barnes & Noble

Links to follow Micheal
Website
Blog
Facebook
Twitter
Goodreads

One thought on “Wednesdays, Writing & Words welcomes author, Michael Rivers

Leave a Reply

