Wednesday’s Writing & Words

Today I have the incredible honor of interviewing author, KL Dierking. Every once in a while you come across a person so strong and courageous that you can’t help but be inspired. Today we are having a glimpse into such a life. KL Dierking went from an abused child into a loving, wife, mom and adult. Having suffered sexual and physical abuse, she now works with PTSD victims and helps give them the strength they need to become survivors.

Although she typically writes adult inspirational fiction, she is introducing her first middle grade chapter book,  Angst of a Middle School Newbie   (Vol 1 of the Philippian 4:13 series).

 

THUMBNAIL_IMAGE

PHILIPPIAN MACEDON has never had a single friend his whole life. Not one. Why would he? He doesn’t fit in anywhere. He’s short, nerdy and terrified of the dark.

To make matters worse, he must now brave the cold cruel world of middle school all alone. His dad is deployed to Iraq and his mom expecting a new baby. Philippian has never felt more alone and invisible.

With a birthday on April thirteen, Philippian is reminded that he can do all things through Christ who strengthens him. Follow his journey through the Philippian 4:13 series as he faces many obstacles and discovers the value of being unique. Be there as he learns to lean on the one friend that has been there all along.

 

You can purchase it at:

https://www.createspace.com/5556598

 

 

Interview

Why don’t you tell us a little about yourself? Are you married? Any kids? Where do you live?

I am KL Dierking (Katrina). I reside in central NC with my husband and 4 children ages 19,18,16 and 3. Writing is my passion along with encouraging women who have suffered and survived sexual abuse, dealing with the other side of sexual abuse (PTSD, depression, suicidal thoughts/tendencies)  as well as educating women on the signs and how to keep their children safe from abuse.

I was sexually abused by the man who adopted my at the age of 4. He sexually and physically abused me for the next 12 years. I spent many years afterwards abusing myself and feeling as if I was unworthy of love. I was self-destructive and angry. Only by the grace and mercy of God was I able to turn my life around and change my future.

 

I have spent my entire adult life in the medical field holding several degrees and certifications including Firefighter I/II and EMT-Paramedic. I recently chose to leave the medical field to come home to work and raise my 3 year old the way I believe God intended for our family.

I also have an online homeschool and educational resource company called Mr. Row’s Adventures. Mr. Row is a stuffed monkey who travels around the world staying with host homeschooling families. The families take Mr. Row on educational field trips in their area and in turn, I create educational supplies and materials for the families to use in their homeschooling classroom.

What genre do you write? Why do you like that particular type of story?

My genre of choice is Inspirational Fiction. I have written two novels and am currently working on a post-rapture novel series but recently decided to write my first young readers chapter book, also a series.

What are your fondest memories of writing or reading?

Writing has always been therapy for me. It was my safe place and the one place no one could harm me.

What are some of your favorite authors and books?

Karen Kingsbury’s book One Tuesday Morning and Beyond Tuesday

If you could describe what writing means to you, how would you do so?

Writing has saved my life. Through my writing, I have been able to tell my story of sexual and physical abuse through the fictional characters I create. I’ve been able to go places in my mind that I may never truly experience.

What is your favorite snack & drink while reading/writing?

I always drink coffee while I write. Well, I drink coffee nearly all hours of the day. I don’t really snack while writing.

Write your favorite quote and explain why you picked it?

“I won’t spend my life as nothing.” A Knight’s Tale. As a child, my mother told me every single day that I was stupid and unlovable. I believed her for far too long. This quote reminds me that her words do not dictate my future and my future is what I make it.

 

 

Links:

You can view my blog (http://www.IAmKLDierking.com) and subscribe to find out about my upcoming novel Beneath: Vol 1 of the Army of Hope Series (a post-rapture novel series) as well as my very first non-fiction book The Other Side of Sexual Abuse

Be sure to like my FB page @  https://www.facebook.com/pages/KL-Dierking/806859592715609

You may also email me with any thoughts or questions @ authorKLDierking@gmail.com

 

11425194_807167329351502_169701552635994552_n

 

About KL Dierking

KL Dierking is the author of several inspirational fiction novels as well as several young readers chapter books.

She is also the Founder/Owner of Mr Row’s Adventures: An interactive Global Homeschooling Adventure.

KL Dierking has been writing her entire life. Writing has been a form of therapy as she has worked to overcome years of childhood sexual/physical/emotional/mental abuse. She now speaks to other abuse survivors around the world, encouraging them to tell their story.

Her upcoming novel, “Where Angel Waits” depicts the very real life of an abused victim and the journey to overcoming PTSD, extreme depression disorder and suicidal ideations.

KL Dierking is the mom to 4 great kids and the wife to a wonderful husband. They reside in central NC.

Leave a comment